When you wake up with no patience and want the world to explode.

Jordan Lucas
2 min readOct 31, 2023
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

There are times in our lives when we just want to put on our headphones and sit quietly in our corner without anyone bothering us.

A day ago I let my digital watch break (it wasn’t a cheap watch). After taking it out of the charger, it slipped out of my hand and hit the floor, cracking the entire glass screen. It was enough to put me out of my misery. This happened on Sunday, and by Monday I’d woken up stressed.

It may sound silly, it’s true, but all it takes is for something bad to happen for me to lose all patience (even though I tell my relatives and friends that I’m a very calm person, and I am, compared to my mother). The bad thing is that when you wake up feeling stressed, in a bad mood, the day generally tends to get worse.

Killer details

The coffee spills, the chair makes an annoying noise, the sofa isn’t as comfortable as on other days, the sun gets hotter than usual, the worries become more worrisome and you just want everything to go to hell.

To make matters worse, my computer (which has been around since the time of the dinosaurs) emitted an extremely loud noise, signaling that its life was coming to an end. I tried to run some programs and games, even Youtube was crashing, followed by a killer slowdown, stressful.

I just put the computer down, turned it off and lay in bed.

What may have saved me was the gym which, after a long workout, gave me a good night’s sleep, and so I’m here, reporting on Tuesday.

You get boring and make everything boring

Avoid talking to me, avoid bumping into me, avoid even shouting at me for any reason. Don’t ask me questions, joke with me or ask me out.

It’s annoying!

I’ve learned that it can drive people away (temporarily)

It’s complicated, you have to learn that when I’m quiet, it’s because I want to be quiet. I can be someone who goes beyond the limits of joking, laughing and pranks, but I’m serious when I need to be, so get out!

If that hurts you, you can talk to me, no problem; but only when my stress is over, so get out!

The end, get out!

Well, that’s how stress can influence someone. I hope you didn’t like this text, because if that happens, then I was successful in writing it.

--

--

Jordan Lucas

Brazilian, novice writer and volunteer on a mission to improve the world, not with hate, but with words.